Ihr Browser ist veraltet. Wir empfehlen Ihnen ein Update oder einen anderen Browser zum Besuch unserer Website.


Honours and Awards 2020

It is a tradition at the University of Bayreuth to honour outstanding achievements at the President's Dinner. Unfortunately, this was not possible in 2020 due to the coronavirus. We are pleased to present the award winners here instead, together with their vitae and award-winning achievements. We hope thereby to give our award-winners the recognition they deserve, as well as provide a starting point for some fruitful networking. We congratulate them most heartily, and thank them for their great commitment!

Prize of the City of Bayreuth

The Prize of the City of Bayreuth is awarded annually to a maximum of three candidates from different faculties of the University of Bayreuth for their outstanding dissertations.

Science Prize (Universitätsverein)

The Science Prize of the Universitätsvereins (University Association) is awarded annually for outstanding academic achievements in promoting early-career scholars at the University of Bayreuth. The prize honours academic achievement that extends far beyond the demands of a doctorate.

In 2020, the prize will be shared.

DAAD Prize

The DAAD Prize is awarded to foreign students studying in Bayreuth with outstanding results who make a significant contribution to intercultural dialogue.

Prize for the Advancement of Women to faculties

As part of target agreements between the University Governing Board and the faculties for the implementation of equal opportunities (1st round: 2013-2017, 2nd round: 2018-2022), the University of Bayreuth annually awards a Prize for the Advancement of Women to faculties. For the duration of five years in each case, specific key figures for increasing the proportion of women at different levels have been defined with individual faculties in target agreements, and tailored measures developed for implementation over the duration of the target agreements.

As an incentive for the faculties to achieve their goals, the University offers an annual prize for the advancement of women worth a total of € 70,000. This is awarded in three categories:

  • Category 1: Completed Doctorates (€ 10,000)
  • Category 2: Successful Qualification for Professorship (€ 20,000)
  • Category 3: Proportion of Female Professors (€ 40,000)

In 2020, the University will award the prize for the advancement of women in the category "Completed doctorates" to the Faculty of Linguistics & Literatures. The prize in the category "Successful Qualification for Professorship" goes to the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences, and in the category "Proportion of Female Professors" to both the Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences and the Faculty of Cultural Studies (prize shared). Prize money is spent at the discretion of the faculties.

With the renegotiation of the target agreements for the period 2018-2022, the University Governing Board has also provided an annual "Budget for Innovative Equality Measures" of €10,000, which is available on application. In 2019, the following measures were funded through this budget:

  • Continuation of the lecture series "Women in Philosophy Bayreuth" (Prof. Dr. Alice Pinheiro Walla).
  • Lecture on feminist resistance by Maya Ashash and a workshop by Anabela Rodriguez (Prof. Dr. Susan Arndt)
  • Event "Intersectionality - activism meets academia" (Dr. Nadine Hufnagel, PD Dr. Susanne Knaeble, Jun.-Prof. Dr. Kristin Skottki)
  • Workshop "Networking - with system and strategy" for female students at the University of Bayreuth (EduCare coordinators)

„Golden Raven“ (University Award for Outstanding Teaching)

The University Award for Outstanding Teaching was first presented in 2014 and has been awarded annually since then. The prize is awarded alternately to a professor and a research assistant. The "golden raven" is an award for particularly good teaching performance. Prize-winners are selected on the basis of proposals from all faculties by a higher-level committee consisting of one representative from each of the student representative councils, the Continuing Education Centre for Higher Education (FBZHL), the Speaker's Council, and the Vice President for Teaching & Learning.

Bayreuth Teaching Award for Digitally Supported Teaching

The "Bayreuth Teaching Award for Digitally Supported Teaching" has been awarded since the 2017/2018 winter semester. With this teaching award, the University Governing Board wishes to honour instructors with a special commitment to the design of teaching-learning processes with digital resources. This year, due to the Covid 19 situation and the associated digital-only teaching in the 2020 summer semester, the teaching award will be given to three people. All instructors can apply for this award independently or after being invited to do so, by presenting their teaching-learning scenarios with digital resources. The selection of an award winner is made by a six-member committee with representatives from the University Governing Board, the Centre for Learning & Teaching in Higher Education, the Student Parliament, and the Equal Opportunities Department.

Sustainability Award

The Sustainability Award was presented for the second time in 2020. The prize, endowed with € 400 (1st place), € 300 (2nd place), and € 200 (3rd place), and donated by Universitätsverein Bayreuth e.V. (Partners & Friends of the University), is awarded to students who in their final theses deal theoretically or practically with ensuring sustainable development. Students and alumni of all departments of the University of Bayreuth who have graduated in the previous two academic years are eligible to apply.

The Sustainability Award for final theses is intended to create incentives for the scientific examination of issues in sustainable development. It is linked to the sustainability strategy of the University of Bayreuth. The idea behind the announcement of the award was devised by the President and the "GreenCampus" grouping, with funding from Universitätsverein Bayreuth e.V.

Otto Warburg Prize

The Otto Warburg Chemistry Foundation serves to promote research and teaching in chemistry at the University of Bayreuth, and to present chemistry to the public. To this end, the Foundation, together with the alumni association of the Chemistry Department (CSG e.V.) and the Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences at the University of Bayreuth, awards prizes each year to the best graduates in the field of chemistry.

Other awarded graduates:

  • Best graduate Natural Products & Drug Chemistry (M.Sc.) - Laura Treiber
  • Best graduate Materials Chemistry & Catalysis (M.Sc.) - Sebastian Weiß
  • Best graduate Polymer Science (M.Sc.) - Thomas Tran
  • Best graduate Chemistry (B.Sc.) - Nicolas Müller

From left to right.: Dr. Eric Hoffmann, Dr. Markus Petermichl (Best Promotion), Sebastian Weiß (Materials Chemistry & Catalysis M.Sc.), Thomas Tran (Polymer Science M.Sc.) , Laura Treiber (Natural Products & Drug Chemistry M.Sc.) and Nicolas Müller (Chemistry B.Sc.).Simon Winterstein (Chairman of the CSG), Prof. Dr. Matthias Breuning.

Instead of at the President's Dinner, Professor Dr. Ulrike Wanitzek (University Medal) and Heribert Trunk (Honorary Senator) were honoured at the 2020 Dies Academicus.

University Medal

Video-Laudatio for Prof. Dr. Ulrike Wanitzek

We need your permission to load our offering.

We need your consent to load our offering. In order to show you these offers on our website, we have integrated components from YouTube Video. Please check the details and accept the service to view this content.

Honorary Senator

Video-Laudatio for Heribert Trunk

We need your permission to load our offering.

We need your consent to load our offering. In order to show you these offers on our website, we have integrated components from YouTube Video. Please check the details and accept the service to view this content.