Your browser is outdated. We recommend an update or using another browser to visit our website.

 
placeholder

Eyeing top positions.

It doesn't take a hundred years to make a name for yourself in the national and international university environment. The University of Bayreuth is the best proof that it can be done faster. From our founding in 1975, we have consistently thought along interdisciplinary lines. Today, this has made us pioneers of innovative research and teaching. The success of this strategy is reflected in national and international rankings. The current results are the best motivation for us to become even better.

World University Ranking Published by Times Higher Education Magazine (THE)

Compared to the world’s top universities, the University of Bayreuth is a leading higher education institution that is internationally visible in both research and teaching.

2.112 universities around the world considered in the Times Higher Education World University Ranking 2022, the University of Bayreuth was included in the ranking group 351-400. Among the top ranking institutions in Germany, the University of Bayreuth was 35th. 

Moreover, the University of Bayreuth has again achieved a top position in the international comparison of young universities. This is shown by the 'Young University Ranking' of the British science magazine 'Times Higher Education (THE)', which identifies the world’s 475 best universities that are younger than 50 years old, among which the University of Bayreuth has secured an excellent 45th place for 2021.

The THE ranking of young universities gives equal weight to the categories “Teaching” and “Research”. These categories include indicators such as staff-to-student ratio, research productivity, and academic reputation. The University’s position at the international forefront is in large part also thanks to the fact that research work carried out in Bayreuth is cited particularly often by scholars around the globe. In addition, the ranking recognized the University of Bayreuth’s strength in knowledge and technology transfer with industry, which allows joint innovations to flourish.

University ranking of the Center for Higher Education (CHE)

The subjects at the University of Bayreuth regularly receive outstanding ratings in the CHE's multidimensional university ranking.

While the law programme achieved top positions in all individual criteria in the CHE Ranking 2020/2021  – which is rarely found in university rankings  – the departments of business administration, economics and industrial engineering were awarded the title “Outstanding” rated. In terms of personal care, support during studies, study organization and IT infrastructure, business administration and industrial engineering belong to the leading group in Germany.

In the CHE Ranking 2021/2022, sport science received top ratings for the supervision and support of students, for the range of courses, the organisation of studies, the academic relevance, the career orientation offers and the support for studying abroad. The Department of Chemistry received a top rating for teaching scientific and methodological skills. The organization of studies in mathematics, physics and chemistry also received top positions. Geography and geosciences also received top grades for the general study situation and were able to position themselves well above the national average in almost all criteria for the quality of the course offerings. Students also appreciate the good social climate on campus, the willingness of the teachers to respond to criticism and suggestions from the students and the excellent infrastructure of the University of Bayreuth with its IT equipment, the library and the modern sports facilities on campus.

Ranking conducted by the business magazine WirtschaftsWoche

This ranking is based on a survey of 500 human resources managers in law firms and companies in Germany, which university graduates meet their expectations the most. In 2021 the University of Bayreuth occupies an excellent fifth place in the Law faculty. The economics faculty has also made it into the 'Top 10'!

Nature Index

The University of Bayreuth is ranked 96th for research output in the natural sciences in the 2019 Nature Index tables. In fact, only a total of five universities in Germany are represented in the Top 100 of this new category of normalized Nature Index rankings. The annual Nature Index tables highlight the institutions and countries who dominate research in the natural sciences. It is based this year on the list of 500 universities, research institutes and non-academic institutions, which in 2018 made the largest contributions to publications in 82 leading scientific journals. For the 2019 rankings a new category was introduced, normalized rankings, which takes into account the number of high quality articles published as a proportion of the institution's overall output in the nature sciences, as tracked by the Dimensions database of Digital Science.

 Furthermore, the University of Bayreuth is in the top group of the "Nature Index 2019 Young Universities". This recently published global ranking lists universities and research institutions younger than 50 years of age according to their share of publications in cutting-edge scientific research. In the ranking of the world's 175 best young universities, the University of Bayreuth was placed 21st. This puts it in second spot among young universities in Germany.

World University Ranking Published by Times Higher Education Magazine (THE)

Compared to the world’s top universities, the University of Bayreuth is a leading higher education institution that is internationally visible in both research and teaching.

2.112 universities around the world considered in the Times Higher Education World University Ranking 2022, the University of Bayreuth was included in the ranking group 351-400. Among the top ranking institutions in Germany, the University of Bayreuth was 35th. 

Moreover, the University of Bayreuth has again achieved a top position in the international comparison of young universities. This is shown by the 'Young University Ranking' of the British science magazine 'Times Higher Education (THE)', which identifies the world’s 475 best universities that are younger than 50 years old, among which the University of Bayreuth has secured an excellent 45th place for 2021.

The THE ranking of young universities gives equal weight to the categories “Teaching” and “Research”. These categories include indicators such as staff-to-student ratio, research productivity, and academic reputation. The University’s position at the international forefront is in large part also thanks to the fact that research work carried out in Bayreuth is cited particularly often by scholars around the globe. In addition, the ranking recognized the University of Bayreuth’s strength in knowledge and technology transfer with industry, which allows joint innovations to flourish.

Also excellent from a didactic point of view: the prizes for good teaching

The University of Bayreuth is not only characterized by optimal structures  – there are also excellent learning conditions for students. This can also be seen in the teaching awards we have received, which are regularly awarded to us by various institutions.

Ihr Browser ist veraltet. Wir empfehlen Ihnen ein Update oder einen anderen Browser zum Besuch unserer Website.

 
placeholder

Hochschulrankings

Es braucht keine hundert Jahre, um sich in der nationalen und internationalen Universitätslandschaft einen Namen zu machen. Die Universität Bayreuth ist der beste Beweis dafür, dass es auch schneller geht. Von unserer Gründung 1975 an haben wir konsequent interdisziplinär gedacht. Heute sind wir dadurch Wegbereiter innovativer Forschung und Lehre.

Der Erfolg dieser Strategie schlägt sich in den nationalen und internationalen Rankings nieder. Die aktuellen Ergebnisse sind für uns die schönste Motivation, um noch besser zu werden.

Unsere aktuellen Ranking-Ergebnisse

Weltweite Hochschulrankings des Times Higher Education Magazins (THE)

Im Vergleich der besten Universitäten der Welt erweist sich die Universität Bayreuth als leistungsstarke, in Forschung und Lehre international sichtbare Hochschule.

Mehr als 2.112 Universitäten weltweit werden im renommierten ‚Times Higher Education World University Ranking 2022‘ bewertet: Die Universität Bayreuth platziert sich in der Ranggruppe 351-400. Im nationalen Vergleich erreicht sie damit Platz 35 unter den deutschen Hochschulen, die in dieser Top-Liga mitspielen.

Die Universität Bayreuth erzielt auch im internationalen Vergleich junger Universitäten einen Spitzenplatz. Dies zeigt das ‚Young University Ranking‘ des britischen Wissenschaftsmagazins ‚Times Higher Education (THE)‘, das weltweit die 475 besten Universitäten ermittelt, die jünger als 50 Jahre sind und bei dem die Universität Bayreuth 2021 einen hervorragenden 45. Platz einnimmt.

Beim THE-Ranking der jungen Universitäten fallen gleichermaßen die Kategorien 'Lehre' und ‚Forschung‘ ins Gewicht. Hier werden beispielsweise die Betreuung der Studierenden, die wissenschaftliche Produktivität und das Ansehen in der Fachwelt evaluiert. Die Top-Platzierung im weltweiten Vergleich beruht vor allem auch darauf, dass in Bayreuth entstandene Forschungsarbeiten international besonders häufig zitiert werden. Als weitere Stärke der Universität Bayreuth wird der erfolgreiche Wissens- und Technologietransfer in die Industrie gewürdigt, der in der Kooperation mit Unternehmen zu gemeinsamen Innovationen führt.

Hochschulranking des Centrums für Hochschulentwicklung (CHE)

Regelmäßig erhalten die Fächer der Universität Bayreuth herausragende Bewertungen beim multidimensionalen Hochschulranking des CHE.

Während das Jura-Studium beim CHE Ranking 2020/2021 in sämtlichen Einzelkriterien – was bei Hochschulrankings nur selten vorkommt – Spitzenplätze erzielte, wurden die Fachbereiche Betriebswirtschaftslehre, Volkswirtschaftslehre und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen für die allgemeine Studiensituation, das Lehrangebot, der Wissenschaftsbezug und die Berufsorientierung mit dem Prädikat „Herausragend“ bewertet. Auch im Hinblick auf die persönliche Betreuung, die Unterstützung im Studium, die Studienorganisation und die IT-Infrastruktur gehören die Fächer BWL und Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen deutschlandweit zur Spitzengruppe.

Im CHE Ranking 2021/2022 erhielt die Sportwissenschaft Spitzenbewertungen für die Betreuung und Unterstützung der Studierenden, für das Lehrangebot, die Studienorganisation, den Wissenschaftsbezug, die Angebote zur Berufsorientierung und die Unterstützung für ein Auslandsstudium. Einen Spitzenplatz erhielt der Fachbereich Chemie für die Vermittlung fachwissenschaftlicher und methodischer Kompetenzen. Weitere Top-Platzierungen gab es für die Studienorganisation in der Mathematik, der Physik und der Chemie. Auch die Geographie und die Geowissenschaften erhielten Bestnoten für die allgemeine Studiensituation und konnten sich in nahezu allen Kriterien für die Qualität des Lehrangebots deutlich über dem bundesweiten Durchschnitt positionieren. Studierende schätzen darüber hinaus das gute soziale Klima auf dem Campus, die Bereitschaft der Lehrenden, auf Kritik und Vorschläge seitens der Studierenden einzugehen und die hervorragende Infrastruktur der Universität Bayreuth mit ihrer IT-Ausstattung, der Bibliothek und den modernen Sportanlagen am Campus.

Hochschulranking der WirtschaftsWoche

Das Ranking beruht auf einer Umfrage unter 500 Personalverantwortlichen in Kanzleien und Unternehmen in Deutschland, welche Hochschulabsolventen und -absolventinnen ihre Erwartungen am meisten erfüllen. 2021 belegt die Universität Bayreuth im Fachbereich Jura einen hervorragenden fünften Platz. Der Fachbereich Volkswirtschaftslehre hat es ebenfalls in die 'Top 10' geschafft!

Nature Index

Im erstmals erschienenen gewichteten Ranking des „Nature Index 2019“ erzielt die Universität Bayreuth den 96. Rang und gehört damit weltweit zu den Top 100 der Universitäten mit naturwissenschaftlichen Forschungsschwerpunkten. Der jährlich veröffentlichte „Nature Index“ beruht auf einer Liste von 500 Universitäten, Forschungsinstituten und nicht-akademischen Einrichtungen, die im Kalenderjahr die größten Anteile an Publikationen in 82 führenden naturwissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften hatten. Für 2019 wurde ein neues normalisiertes Ranking eingeführt. Es setzt die Zahl der veröffentlichten Spitzen-Artikel zur gesamten Veröffentlichungsleistung einer Einrichtung in Beziehung, so wie diese über die „Dimensions“-Datenbank von Digital Science erfasst wird.

Des Weiteren liegt die Universität Bayreuth im „Nature Index 2019 Young Universities“ in der Spitzengruppe. Dieses globale Ranking listet Universitäten und Forschungseinrichtungen, die jünger als 50 Jahre sind, nach ihrem Anteil an den Publikationen in der naturwissenschaftlichen Spitzenforschung. Im Ranking der 175 weltbesten jungen Universitäten erzielt die Universität Bayreuth Rang 21. Innerhalb der jungen Universitäten in Deutschland liegt sie damit auf dem zweiten Platz.

Unsere aktuellen Ranking-Ergebnisse

Weltweite Hochschulrankings des Times Higher Education Magazins (THE)

Im Vergleich der besten Universitäten der Welt erweist sich die Universität Bayreuth als leistungsstarke, in Forschung und Lehre international sichtbare Hochschule.

Mehr als 2.112 Universitäten weltweit werden im renommierten ‚Times Higher Education World University Ranking 2022‘ bewertet: Die Universität Bayreuth platziert sich in der Ranggruppe 351-400. Im nationalen Vergleich erreicht sie damit Platz 35 unter den deutschen Hochschulen, die in dieser Top-Liga mitspielen.

Die Universität Bayreuth erzielt auch im internationalen Vergleich junger Universitäten einen Spitzenplatz. Dies zeigt das ‚Young University Ranking‘ des britischen Wissenschaftsmagazins ‚Times Higher Education (THE)‘, das weltweit die 475 besten Universitäten ermittelt, die jünger als 50 Jahre sind und bei dem die Universität Bayreuth 2021 einen hervorragenden 45. Platz einnimmt.

Beim THE-Ranking der jungen Universitäten fallen gleichermaßen die Kategorien 'Lehre' und ‚Forschung‘ ins Gewicht. Hier werden beispielsweise die Betreuung der Studierenden, die wissenschaftliche Produktivität und das Ansehen in der Fachwelt evaluiert. Die Top-Platzierung im weltweiten Vergleich beruht vor allem auch darauf, dass in Bayreuth entstandene Forschungsarbeiten international besonders häufig zitiert werden. Als weitere Stärke der Universität Bayreuth wird der erfolgreiche Wissens- und Technologietransfer in die Industrie gewürdigt, der in der Kooperation mit Unternehmen zu gemeinsamen Innovationen führt.

Auch Didaktisch ausgezeichnet: Die Preise für "Gute Lehre" 

Die Universität Bayreuth zeichnet sich nicht nur durch optimale Strukturen aus − für Studierende herrschen auch beste Lernbedingungen. Die Besten der besten Dozierenden zeichnen wir aus.